What's New

- Starting in the 2021-22 school year, the Badger Conference will move to an East/West configuration including North & South Division in each conference

BADGER WEST CONFERENCE	BADGER EAST CONFERENCE
NORTHWEST Baraboo Portage Reedsburg Sauk Prairie	NORTHEAST Beaver Dam DeForest Watertown Waunakee
SOUTHWEST Edgewood Mount Horeb Monroe Oregon	SOUTHEAST Fort Atkinson Milton Monona Grove Stoughton

New Terms

- **Neighboring Division** = The other division within your conference (Example: Northwest and Southwest are neighboring divisions)
- <u>Lateral Division</u> = The matching division in the other conference (Example: Northwest and Northeast are lateral divisions)
- <u>Diagonal Division</u> = The opposite division in the other conference (Example: Northwest and Southeast are diagonal divisions and would play each other in a Crossover)
- **Quads** = Events involving just one division (Example: NE Cross-Country Quad will be held at Waunakee in 2021, Quads will rotate among the division schools)
- Championship Series Games = Divisional teams within each conference will play each other based on division standings (NE1 vs. SE1, NE2, vs. SE2, NE3 vs. SE3, NE4 vs. SE4)
- <u>Crossover/Challenge</u> = Teams will compete against the other conference and be matched based on conference standings

FAQs

- Why did the Badger Conference realign? The Badger Conference tasked the Athletic Directors with addressing the amount of travel, school size, and lost academic time that students were facing with the 'current' Badger Conference alignment. An Ad Hoc Committee was created to review this issue and present options to the Badger Conference ADs, Principals, and Superintendents.
- Why did the Badger Conference create divisions? As proposed by the Ad Hoc Committee, the divisions offer the conference the ability to even further reduce travel and missed class time while creating unique events/experiences for our student-athletes through the creation of divisional quads, expanding crossover events, etc...
- **How will conference champions be decided?** The specific way conference champions are determined will differ from sport to sport. The creation of divisions will allow us to create a championship week where the top school in each division will take on the other top school from their neighboring division. (Example: Boys Soccer: NE#1 vs. SE#1, NE#2 vs. SE#2, NE#3 vs. SE#3, NE#4 vs. SE#4)

Football Only Conferences*

- The WIAA and the Wisconsin Football Coaches Association worked together to create Football-Only conferences.
- These conferences were originally planned for the Fall 2020 season. Due to COVID some schools were not able to participate in football. Ultimately, this Large/Small alignment will be in place for the 2021 football season.
- The purpose of Football-Only Large and Small conferences is to create a competitive balance by matching schools based on enrollment.

BADGER LARGE CONFERENCE	BADGER SMALL CONFERENCE
Beaver Dam DeForest Janesville Craig Janesville Parker Milton Oregon Watertown Waunakee	Baraboo Fort Atkinson Monona Grove Mount Horeb Portage Reedsburg Sauk Prairie Stoughton
	*Monroe and Edgewood have been placed in the Rock Valley Conference

^{*}The Football Only Conference alignment is being reviewed per the WIAA process for potential modification starting in 2022.